2017-03-29 / Front Page

Village board seats change hands

« »
Julia Marks wins in Margaretville; Larry Reilly returns in Fleischmanns
By Joan Lawrence-Bauer

Political newcomer Julia Marks cruised to victory in a three-way race for a seat on Margaret- ville’s Village Board last Tuesday evening, March 21. Mayor Diana Cope and Trustee Iris Mead were easily re-elected as well. In Fleischmanns, Mayor Don Kearney and Trustee Fred Woller were reelected without opposition to seats they already held and former board member Larry Reilly, who did not pursue a seat this year, was elected by write-in votes.

Margaretville results

In Margaretville result tallies, Cope garnered 81 votes in polling at the Village Hall with no opposition in her run for re-election. Marks, running in the hopes of filling a seat being vacated by Trustee John Van Benschoten, pulled 83 votes. Mead, a long time board veteran, pulled 68 votes with newcomer Robert Manshaffer a distant third with 23.

The three women will serve with sitting trustees John Hubbell and Chris Dabritz who were not up for re-election this year.

Results of voting in Fleischmanns saw Kearney and Woller, the only two people on the ballot, garner 19 votes each. Ten voters wrote in the name of Ben Fenton for Mayor despite the fact that he was not seeking that post. Twelve voters wrote in Reilly’s name to give him the second seat up for grabs in the election. Seven voters wrote in the name of Miguel Martinez.

Reilly has served the village in a number of capacities including Village Board, Planning Board and primary representative of the village at flood commission meetings. He was narrowly defeated for re-election to the Village Board in 2015 by Lewis Grocholl, who died in July that year. Woller was appointed to the board to serve out Grocholl’s term which he did prior to his re-election. Reilly won the seat of Ben Fenton who, after serving eight years on the board, declined to seek reelection. Reilly will join Kearney and Woller as well as incumbent board members Harriett Grossman and David Yates, on the board.

Both villages will now hone budget numbers for their next fiscal year and both hope to complete major bridge and related infrastructure projects during the 2017 construction season.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2017-03-29 digital edition