RCS team scores at Science Olympiad

Roxbury — The Roxbury Central School Science Olympiad Team claimed six medals and a 10th-place overall finish at the Junior High Science Olympiad State Finals at SUNY New Paltz last weekend. In addition, the Roxbury team, which features students in seventh, eighth and ninth grades, narrowly missed taking home the Best Small School trophy by a mere two places.
Teams earned the right to compete in the state finals through regional tournaments held this past winter. Roxbury punched its ticket to states with a third-place finish in the Capitol Area Regional in early March.
Twenty-five different events were contested in categories of academics, problem solving and technical construction. Roxbury finished in the top 10 in ten events, taking home medals in six.
Best finishes for the Rockets were: “Car of Tomorrow,” Heather Reinshagen and Adam Loper, 10th place; “Meteorology,” Heither Reinshagen and Elaine Faison, 10th place; “Solar System,” Elaine Faison and Liz Davis, 10th place; “Trajectory,” Liz Davis and Larissa Shultis, 9th place; “Can’t Judge a Powder,” Jennifer Wallace and Bailey O’Donnell, sixth place medal; “Junkyard Challenge,” Heather Reinshagen and Larissa Shultis, sixth place medal; “Science Crime Busters,” Jennifer Wallace and Bailey O’Donnell, fourth place medal; “Elevated Bridge,” Elaine Faison and Adam Loper, third place (bronze) medal; “Ornithology,” Elaine Faison and Joe McAfee, second place (silver) medal; “Physical Science Lab,” Elaine Faison and Heather Reinshagen, first place (gold) medal.
Due to rules that limit teams to 15 total members and five ninth-graders, the Rockets competed with a team of 11 and four ninth-graders as “team assistants.” The Roxbury Central School Science Olympiad Team is comprised of the following students: Liz Davis, Lisa Fairbairn, Elaine Faison, Kennedy Faraci, Adam Loper, Joe McAfee, Ethan McDaniel, Bailey O’Donnell, Heather Reinshagen, Larissa Shultis and Jennifer Wallace. Team assistants were Rachel Beck, Miranda Cross, Katie Fairbairn and Kerrigan Kellerhouse.
Roxbury won the state championship in 1995.
The team is coached by Fred Zimmerman, Fred Zerega, Jamie Kellerhouse, Cathy Rappleyea, Al Vigna, Joan Riordan and Ken Meskill.