Fall schedule listed by eCenter

The fall schedule of classes at the Delaware County eCenter offers a mix of computer and business learning. New to the schedule are classes that address business uses of the Internet and computer programs.
Ongoing classes on the Microsoft Office suite of software (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc.) have been expanded to include Microsoft Access and Outlook. Classes in Intuit QuickBooks and website development are targeted to the needs of local businesses. Fred Harris, of Aleph and Co., returns to teach Basic Principles of Adobe Photoshop (participants are encouraged to bring their own laptops for this class).
An array of business courses and seminars includes Time Management, Effective Supervision and Writing for Results. A new class on Delivering Effective Present-ations expands on the many uses of Powerpoint and provides tips on giving any kind of speech. Elizabeth Trever Buchinger, whose Blogging for Success class has been so popular, will also lead Five Free Internet Tools that Save Money for Your Business.
The class on Business Plan Development that was introduced in the spring continues on the schedule due to popular demand. This course provides an overview of the planning process and enables you to take the first steps to determine the viability of a business idea. It has also proven helpful to those seeking financing to expand their business. It is the perfect prelude to the Micro-Enterprise program offered by the Delaware County Office of Economic Development.
Classes are $35 when prepaid with advance registration and $40 the day of class. Class sizes are limited so early registration is required. Classes that do not achieve the minimum level of registration two days in advance of the schedule date will be rescheduled. Register on-line at www.dcecenter.com or via telephone at 607 746-9710.

Computer Classes
Introduction to PC Use
Wednesday, September 17 — 6:00 pm
Tuesday, October 21 — 1:30 pm

Getting Started with MS Word
Wednesday, September 3 — 6:00 pm
Tuesday, September 30 — 1:30 pm
Wednesday, October 29 — 6:00 pm

MS Word for the Self Taught (Intermediate)
Thursday, August 21 — 1:30 pm
Wednesday, September 24 — 6:00 pm
Thursday, October 23 — 1:30 pm
Prerequisite: G S /Word or experience

Advanced MS Word
Wednesday, October 1 — 6:00 pm
Prerequisite: Intermediate Word + experience

Getting Started with MS Excel
Thursday, September 4 — 1:30 pm
Wednesday, October 8 — 6:00 pm

Intermediate MS Excel 2007
Wednesday September 10 — 6:00 pm
Wednesday, October 22 — 1:30 pm

Advanced MS Excel
Tuesday, September 2 — 1:30 pm
Prerequisite: Intermediate Excel or experience

Getting Started with MS Access
Tuesday, September 2 — 6:00 pm
Thursday, October 2 — 6:00 pm

MS Access Queries
Tuesday, September 9 — 6:00 pm
Thursday, October 9 — 6:00 pm

Basic Principles of Adobe Photoshop
Wednesday, September 17 — 9:00 am
Wednesday, October 22 — 9:00 am

Working with MS Outlook
Tuesday, August 26 — 6:00 pm
Tuesday, October 7 — 6:00 pm

Getting Started with QuickBooks
Monday, September 15 — 6:00 pm
Wednesday, October 15 — 1:30 pm

Reporting with QuickBooks
Thursday, October 30 — 1:30 pm

Getting Started with MS PowerPoint
Tuesday, August 26 — 1:30 pm
Thursday, October 16 — 6:00 pm
Prerequisite: word processing experience

Getting Started with MS Publisher
Thursday, August 28 — 1:30 pm
Tuesday, October 14 —- 6:00 pm
Prerequisite: word processing experience

Creating Newsletters with MS Publisher
Thursday, September 18 — 6:00 pm

Web Design
Wednesday, August 27 — 6:00 pm
Tuesday, September 23 — 6:00 pm
Thursday, October 30 00 6:00 pm

Business Courses
Time Management
Tuesday, September 9 — 6:00 pm
Thursday, October 16 — 1:30 pm

Blogging for Success
w/Elizabeth Trever Buchinger, Grafiqa — Learn the ins and outs of blogging and why you should have one of your own.
Thursday, August 21 — 6:00 pm
Tuesday, September 30 — 6:00 pm

Business Plan Development
For those with an idea for a new business and existing businesses and looking to grow
Thursday, September 11 — 1:30 pm
Wednesday, October 22 — 6:00 pm

Effective Supervision
Make your business an “employer of choice”; the place people want to work.
Wednesday, September 3 — 1:30 pm
Wednesday, October 15 — 6:00 pm

Five Free Internet Tools that Save Money for Your Business
The title says it all!
Thursday, September 11 — 6:00 pm
Tuesday, October 28 — 6:00 pm

Writing for Results
Make your written communications stand out from the crowd.
Wednesday, August 20 — 6:00 pm
Tuesday, October 14 — 1:30 pm

Power Presentations
Deliver dynamic presentations that draw audiences and move them to action.
Wednesday, August 27 — 6:00 pm
Wednesday, October8 — 1:30 pm