Challengers step up in supervisor races


By Brian Sweeney
Supervisors in Bovina, Middletown and Roxbury will face challenges in this fall’s elections, according to filings with the Delaware County Board of Elections.

The deadline for submitting Independent petitions was August 20 and Beatriz Sohni added her name to the Independent line to challenge longtime Republican incumbent Supervisor Tina Molè in Bovina in the November 5 election. Molè is also running as a member of the Independence Party.

In the Town of Roxbury, William Walcutt will appear on the Independent line as he runs for a second time against veteran Supervisor Thomas Hynes. The supervisor is running on the Democratic and Independent lines.

In the Town of Middletown, first-term Supervisor Marge Miller filed petitions to appear on the Democratic and Independent lines. Challenging her will be Nelson Delameter who will square off against Miller in a Democratic Primary on September 10 to determine which candidate earns that party’s ballot designation. Mr. Delameter has also filed petitions to appear on the Republican and Independent ballot lines.

With all petitions for Democratic, Republican, Independence Party and Independent lines now filed with the Delaware County Board of Elections, the ballots include the following races:

Town of Andes
Republican Supervisor Martin Donnelly will run without opposition for another two-year term. He is also running as a member of the Independence Party.
Three candidates for the Andes Town Board will compete in the September 10 primary to determine which two will appear on the Democratic line. The candidates vying for the Democratic designation are Dale Cole, Samuel Fundaro and Thomas Joyce. There will be a primary in September with the top two vote recipients appearing on the party line on the ballot. Regardless of the outcome of the Primary, Mr. Cole and Mr. Joyce have filed petitions to appear on the ballot’s Independent line.
Daniel Grommeck and Martin Liddle, both incumbents, will run on the Republican line for the Andes Town Board. Both GOP candidates also filed petitions to appear on the Independence Party line. The top two vote recipients will earn places on the Andes Town Board.

Republican Town Justices Joseph Grieco and Nicholas Burton are both running for re-election. They also appear on the Independence Party line.
Tax assessor Tina Moshier will be running for re-election on the GOP and Independence Party lines. Democrat/Independent Joseph Steketee Sr. is running as a challenger.
Republican Michael McAdams, superintendent of highways, is not being opposed in his re-election bid.

Town of Bovina
Town board balloting in Bovina will have Democrat Evelyn Stewart, a Democrat, running for re-election. Kenneth Brown, a former board member, is running without seeking the seat vacated by veteran board member Charles McIntosh, who is stepping down after many years on the board.
Democrat/Independent Ed Weber is seeking another term as superintendent of highways. Republican/Independent candidate Brian McIntosh is challenging for the position.
Incumbent Clerk/Tax Collector Catherine Hewitt, a Republican, is running unopposed.

Town of Middletown
Four candidates will vie for a pair of seats on the Middletown Town Board. Seeking re-election will be Democratic/Independent candidate Michael Finberg and Jake Rosa, who will be running on the Republican/Independent lines.
Republican George Brown and Independent Dean Hunter are also running for town board positions. The top two vote getters will win board seats.

Two candidates are seeking to fill the justice position being vacated by longtime Judge Glen George, who is not running. John Fairbairn III is running as a Democrat and Warren Slavin’s has filed a petition to run on the Independent line.
Democrat/Independent David Goodchild Jr. is running to fill the remainder of the term. He was appointed last fall to fill a vacancy in the assessing department.

Town of Roxbury
Republican board members Gene Cronk and Allen Hinkley are both seeking re-election. Democratic candidate Melony Lee is also running for a board position. The top two vote recipients will win seats.
Democrat Joan Moore has no opponent as she seeks another term as tax collector. Town Justice Wayne Pebler, a Democrat, is also unchallenged in his bid for re-election.